Community > Posts By > Cher38

no photo
Mon 01/12/15 05:59 PM

Blondey, found this interesting article on the views of the catholic church on divorce. The short of it is that under "special circumstances" a divorce is not a sin, but to remarry, a special annulment has to be dispensed:

http://www.cdop.org/pages/AOfficeFamilyFAQDivorce.aspx

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert on catholicism by any means.

Other religions have similar or even tighter restrictions.

In my mind, the biggest confusion is with fundamentalist christian religions, which consider divorce as a sin, just like stealing, murder and so on. It can be forgiven if you confess and repent, but to me, repentance means you intend to make things right, renouncing what you did... so, does this mean going back to your marriage? Makes no sense to me. That's exactly what my ex believes actually.

great article .. Thanks mini .. So the Catholic Church atleast acknowledges there are concessions when a divorce is justified but they retain the power to annul the sacred bonds of marriage .. On behalf of god Of course .. The power to allow someone to remarry or not lies with the church .

Yup, for catholics it seems to be. I'm actually really curious to see if someone catholic on here can comment. I've studies a number of religions in my life, but I'll be honest and say that unless you actually practice, some of the information can be a bit confusing.

As far as fundamentalist christian religions, I do have some experience. Here's another article that explains the baptist view (one of the largest fundamentalist religions out there):
http://www.firstbaptistchurchclifton.org/Doctrinal%20Issues%20Page/Divorce.htm