Community > Posts By > Manami

Manami's photo
Tue 03/04/08 09:22 PM

Oh boy. No easy answers here. There's a couple of courses of action you can take and I'll give you my advice. First, where I'm coming from. I'm a former US Army soldier so I know a bit about long distance relationships, cross cultural relationships and trying to keep in touch, etc.

Here's the thing: Long distance relationships are very hard to consumate and sustain over the long run. I'm not saying let it go, but I am saying, don't get too serious either. If I was you, I'd try to find someone local in Japan or wherever you're going to live. Correspond with the Marine and keep in touch by e-mail and such, but if you find someone else special, I wouldn't let the long distance relationship take priority. I'd come to an understanding with the Marine that your long distrance relationship is kind of unrealistic to maintain and make it clear to him that you will date and talk to other people, if you are just casual friends. If you're more than casual friends and you're serious about the Marine there may be another course of action you want to pursue, but my recommendation is to get less serious, see what develops, and if he stays devoted to you, maybe draw closer again. Cross cultural relationships are very hard to maintain. My step brother was married to a Japanese woman. Their tempraments were very different. He was outgoing and she was shy and the two personalities didn't make it past the maturity of their children. If you get serious, make sure that your family accepts him and his family and friends accept you. If they don't, it may be worthwhile to look elsewhere. Pray about it, ask for the Lord's guidance, walk in his ways and good luck to you. You sound like you have a University education and a good start in life, at any rate. Good luck to you.

Wow, thank you for your advice! I really appreciate it..
He says he can go to Japan if I have to live there.